BSA Bantam Racing
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
BSA Bantam Racing

Bantam Racing Club

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

One of the last (bantams) standing in Australia

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
dpking

dpking

Number of posts : 30
Registration date : 2011-02-22

One of the last (bantams) standing in Australia Empty
PostSubject: One of the last (bantams) standing in Australia   One of the last (bantams) standing in Australia Icon_minitimeTue Mar 01, 2011 12:49 am

Hello fellow bantam racers,I have enjoyed the this website and reading most of the current forums. I have been tuning and racing bantams for over 20 years in Australia firstly in Victoria and now in Perth ,Western Australia.
I run a square stroke,rotary valve engine also combined with a standard bantam 4 speed cluster (needs to be a cr )Runs on methanol with a Boyer Brandsen ignition. I do have some areas of tuning I still can improve on mainly a better clutch assembly.Currently its a standard bantam 4 speed clutch braced at the top which is a standard mod.The drive slots have been hard faced with a tig welder then spark eroded back to original.I still use original mild steel plates with after market friction plates with weld themselves together.
I have seen there is a solution with nitrided plates but were can I get some and please send some links to other clutch articles.
To Mike Powell, I turned up at your house one night many years ago and showed pictures of my cassette gearbox on a bike I was racing and a few pictures of the rotary disc engine in a earlier stage of building.Seeing your formula bantam up close was great, the good brakes and suspension .
Regards Dave cheers
Back to top Go down
mjpowell

mjpowell

Number of posts : 1074
Registration date : 2006-12-09